Change Patch Deployment scheduling so that Notify acceptance is required before deploying patches
Currently, the NOTIFY section says:
Display an alert dialog to offer the console user a chance to delay or cancel the action before it executes. If no user is logged on to the console, schedule run immediately.
However, in practical sense, this is not good. I only discovered this after having a session with tech support, and this behavior does not work for us. We have a maintenance window for our servers which require manual intervention to allow reboot of the server during a maintenance window. I was planning on setting up the Kace patch deployment to display a notification during the Maintenance Window so that if a user should accept the deployment, then patching will start and after patching it will reboot during the maintenance window. However this is not possible currently.
My change request is basically to change the flow of how the NOTIFY happens, and how DEPLOYMENT starts. Basically, if the software development team is able to add a flag check before DEPLOYMENT starts to look for if someone accepted the NOTIFY, then this change can happen easily.
For example, at the beginning DEPLOY=0... if NOTIFY is configured, then have notification come up, and if someone accepts, DEPLOY=1, if it is cancelled, DEPLOY=0, or if it is SUSPENDED then the alert will just come up again. When DEPLOYMENT starts, it checks if DEPLOY=1 then it would deploy, if DEPLOY=0, then don't start deployment. Currently, the way it is configured, if you were to terminate the alert process of the NOTIFY, it will immediately go to DEPLOY and deploy patches because the NOTIFY currently is just a way for the users to be able to stop or cancel the deployment --- it should be changed into if NOTIFY is activated, then a user must accept the NOTIFY before deployment happens.